You are here

The Foundation board

Erik Fyrwald (Board Chairman)

Erik Fyrwald became SFSA Board Chairman in 2018. He is CEO of Syngenta. A short biography is available on the company’s website. See Erik talking about our Foundation and its interactions with the company. 

Simon Winter (Executive Director)

Simon Winter became Executive Director in September 2017. He joined the Syngenta Foundation from TechnoServe, where he was most recently Senior Vice President, Development, in Washington, D.C. For biographical details, please see our team page.​

Radha Singh

Radha Singh is a former Agriculture Secretary with the Government of India, and has worked for the World Bank. A previous member of the ICRISAT board and other organizations, she is currently Agriculture Advisor to the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry.

John Atkin

John Atkin served as Chief Operating Officer for Syngenta from the foundation of the company in 2000 until 2014. He was previously Chief Executive Officer for Novartis Crop Protection, following a number of commercial and R&D leadership positions with Sandoz, FMC and Rhône-Poulenc. John was appointed a non-executive Director of the American fresh produce company Driscoll's in 2011. See what John says about working on the Board.

Mohamed Ait Kadi

Mohamed Ait Kadi is President of Morocco's General Council of Agricultural Development, a policy Think-Tank of the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries. He is a key player in Morocco’s agricultural sector reforms and has served on several national and international boards and many high-level international assignments. He is a resident member of the King Hassan II Academy of Science and Technology.

Margaret Catley-Carlson

Margaret Catley-Carlson was President of the Canadian International Development Agency and the Population Council, and from 1989 to 1992 Canada’s Deputy Minister of Health and Welfare.


Paul Boateng

The Rt Hon. the Lord Boateng PC DL was brought up in the UK and Ghana. A lawyer by training, Paul Boateng was a UK Member of Parliament, a Cabinet Minister as Chief Secretary to the Treasury, and UK High Commissioner to South Africa. He serves in the House of Lords and in a wide range of organizations internationally. Until 2019, for example, he chaired the Nairobi-based Africa Enterprise Challenge Fund. This multi-donor development fund supports small farmers and rural communities in 26 countries by investing in agribusiness and renewable energy. Lord Boateng also chairs the private-public NPO Water and Sanitation for the Urban Poor. He sits on the Board of the UK-regulated Ghana International Bank and the Health Advisory Board of Gilead Sciences, USA. His other charity chairs include Book Aid International, the English Speaking Union, and the International Foundation of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. A Methodist lay preacher, he is married to Janet. They have five children and seven grandchildren.

The Secretary to the Foundation Board is Rebecca Hubert Scherler (see team page).